Today while reading my email I get an email from Spammers/Scammers with heading “Gmail Servers Verification“.
On check i found the following message :
==============
from Gmail <mailboxsmembers@gmail.com>
to reply@googlemail.com
date Sun, Jul 18, 2010 at 9:00 PM
subject Gmail Servers Verification
Due to the congestion in our Gmail servers,there would be removal of all unused Gmail Accounts.You will have to confirm if your E-mail is still active by filling out your login info below after clicking the reply button, or your account will be suspended within 24 hours for security reasons.
Account Name:
Password:
DOB :
Country :
Note: This email is only for Account owner.
Thank you for using Gmail !
The Gmail Team
===============
At first I was confused that how Google can send this sort of email. If you see deeply the email is coming from mailboxsmembers@gmail.com and we have to reply at reply@googlemail.com which seems this email genuine. Most of the peoples will reply to this email to save their account . And their account info will go directly to hackers which hack your account and enjoy your secrets.
But on some research I found that it is a scam email. Why?
1. In the Privacy Policy of Google mail you should have read when signing up for your e-mail address, Google specifically states that they will NEVER ask you for your personal information, including e-mail address and password. That e-mail is SPAM and it should be delete immediately.
2. The color of written text is blue, which doughts me. Google always send email in black written text.
How hackers can use mailboxsmembers@gmail.com and reply@googlemail.com?
It is a special type of email sender software where you can send email to anyone from any email name and reply will go to sender email. Only if you reply. If you send new email(By compose) to reply@googlemail.com it will goes to Google not to scammer.
Hope it clear you all and beware always this sort of emails.